Colette D. Honorable Photo

{{ disclaimer.HeaderText }}

{{ disclaimer.BodyCopy }}

Colette is a member of Reed Smith’s Energy and Natural Resources Group resident in the Washington, D.C. office. Colette is a highly regarded policy maker in domestic and international energy sectors. Colette recently served as Commissioner at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). She was nominated by President Barack Obama in August 2014, and unanimously confirmed by the U.S. Senate in December 2014 for a term that expired in June 2017. At FERC, Honorable focused on reliability oversight of the bulk power system, cyber and physical security, oversight of wholesale markets, transmission planning and cost allocation in regional transmission organizations, gas-electric coordination, renewables integration, energy storage integration and valuation, enforcement, ratemaking, infrastructure development, and enforcement matters. Colette joined the FERC from the Arkansas Public Service Commission (PSC), where she served since October 2007, and led as Chairman from January 2011-January 2015.


  • University of Memphis
  • University of Arkansas at Little Rock, J.D.

  • Arkansas

  • All State Courts - Arkansas
  • U.S. District Court - Eastern District of Arkansas
  • U.S. Court of Appeals - Eighth Circuit

  • Senior Fellow at the Bipartisan Policy Institute 
  • Ambassador of the Clean Energy Education and Empowerment Initiative (U.S. Department of Energy and the MIT Energy Initiative; International Clean Energy Ministerial)
  • Past President of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners
  • Member of the Energy Bar Association
  • Member of the National Bar Association
  • Member of the Women’s Council on Energy and the Environment
  • Member of Sustaining and Training African American Attorneys at Reed Smith (STAARS)
  • Member of the Women's Initiative Network (WINRS)
  • Member of the Advisory Council at the Electric Power Research Institute

Awards & Recognition

  • 2017 American Association of Blacks in Energy James E. Stewart Award
  • 2016 Women’s Foundation of Arkansas Inaugural Woman in Public Service Award
  • 2016 Alumnus of the Decade by the UALR William H. Bowen School of Law
  • 2015 National Bar Association Congressional Black Caucus Leadership Award
  • 2014 Induction into the Arkansas Black Hall of Fame
  • 2013 Just Communities of Arkansas Humanitarian Award