Legal 500 UK 2019

Reed Smith was recommended in 47 practice areas in the 2019 Legal 500 UK rankings. Five practice areas were ranked in Tier 1: Commodities – derivatives, Commodities – physicals, Insurance litigation – for policyholders, Media & entertainment (including Media finance), and Shipping; and one was a new entry: Listed funds.

Related Professionals: Gareth Amdor Alex Andrews David Ashmore Ildar Bagautdinov Iain Balkwill Patrick A. Beale Gautam Bhattacharyya Chris Borg David J. Boutcher Martin Bowen M. Tamara Box Nick Breen Nick Brocklesby Claude Brown Sarah Caldwell Margaret E. Campbell Chloe J. Carswell Joanna M. Carter Richard A. Ceeney Eleanor E. Chapman Jeb Clulow Sarah Cunningham Delphine Currie Felicity Dart Jeff Drew Lindsay East Stephen Edwards Kyri Evagora Robert Falkner Elizabeth Farrell Simone Goligorsky Sophie Goossens Laura Gould Graham Green Simon Greer Richard M. Gunn Richard M. Hakes Peter Hardy Nick Harris Simon P. Hartley Adam Hedley Charles Hewetson Brett Hillis George Hoare Marjorie C. Holmes Jane Howard Simon Hugo Andrzej Janiszewski Robin B. Jeffcott Andrew P. Jenkinson Charles Jurd Andreas Jürgens Panos Katsambas Rosanne Kay Stephen A. Kirkpatrick Michael J. Maxtone-Smith Andrew Meads Edward S. Miller Stephen Mooney Brigid A. North Cynthia O'Donoghue Belinda L. Paisley Antonia Panayides Christopher Parrott Vassia Payiataki Carolyn E. Pepper Mark Pring Gregor Pryor Lawrence Radley Graham M. Reid Laura Riddeck Diane Roberts Philip R. Rymer Prajakt Samant Mark Sanders Alexander Sandiforth Laura-May Scott Justine M. Senior Stephen E. Sessa Paul Skeet Michael Skrein Jonathan Solomon Angelina Soon Richard A. Spafford Nick Stainthorpe Leon Stephenson Sakil A. Suleman Ben Summerfield Patrick Sutton William Sutton Nick Swimer Richard G. Swinburn Andrew D. Taylor Philip M. Taylor Jimmy Theodorou Philip Thomas Sally-Ann Underhill Tom Webley Charles Weller Robert A. Wilkins James F. Wilkinson Nicholas Williams Michael J. Young

Four new Leading Lawyers were named this year: Prajakt Samant – Commodities: derivatives, Paul Skeet – Commodities: physicals, Margaret Campbell – Insurance litigation: for policyholders, Brigid North – Commercial property: development. Four individuals were named Next Generation Lawyers for the first time: Agnes Molnar – Emerging markets, Ildar Bagautdinov – Trade finance, Laura-May Scott – Insurance litigation: for policyholders, Alexander Sandiforth – Shipping.

Overall, 24 lawyers maintained 28 Leading Lawyer recognitions, and four maintained their Next Generation Lawyer status; and 205 were listed in Editorial.

In addition, 10 lawyers were named to the Legal 500 UK "Hall of Fame," which highlights individuals who have received constant praise by their clients for continued excellence and who are at the pinnacle of the profession, as shown by their inclusion as “Leading Lawyers” in Legal 500 rankings for six or more consecutive years:

  • Chris Borg – Commodities: derivatives
  • Diane Galloway – Commodities: physicals
  • Richard Swinburn – Commodities: physicals
  • Mark Connoley – Insurance litigation: for policyholders
  • Gregor Pryor – Media and entertainment (including media finance)
  • Stephen Edwards – Media and entertainment (including media finance)
  • Andrew Taylor – Shipping
  • Lindsay East – Shipping
  • Nick Shaw – Shipping
  • Richard Gunn – Shipping